DUI

Alabama DUI law includes both a criminal case and a Department of Public Safety driver license case following an arrest for DUI. If you are arrested in the State of Alabama on a DUI charge, you are going to face potentially severe consequences. An immediate consequence is a possible loss of your driver license. There ARE ways to prevent such a suspension in limited circumstances. Talk to Baldwin County Defense Attorney Pascal Bruijn about your options. The other possible consequence is incarceration. Do NOT trust just any attorney to handle your DUI. Baldwin County Defense Attorney Pascal Bruijn has a proven track record of helping hundreds of people, just like you, save their license and keeping them from going to jail. You may even be eligible to have your DUI dismissed EVEN if you are guilty. Call us now at 251-752-7527 to find out how.

IF YOU ARE A COMMERCIAL DRIVER LICENSE (CDL) HOLDER, BOTH STATE AND FEDERAL LAW APPLIES. Baldwin County Defense Attorney Pascal Bruijn can HANDLE ALL TYPES OF CDL TRAFFIC CASES.

Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Penalties

First DUI Conviction:
  • Jail - Up to 1 year in municipal or county jail (no minimum mandatory sentence)
  • Fine - $500 - $2,000, plus an additional $100 fine assessed for Impaired Drivers Trust Fund
  • Mandatory - 90-day license suspension, DUI school attendance

Second DUI Conviction:
  • Jail - 48 consecutive hours, up to 1 year, or not less than 20 days community service
  • Fine - $1,000 - $5,000, plus an additional $100 fine assessed for Impaired Drivers Trust Fund
  • Mandatory - Not less than 48 hours consecutive imprisonment, or community service of not less than 20 days, license revocation - 1 year

Third DUI Conviction (Within 5 Years):
  • Jail - 60 days in municipal or county jail, up to 1 year.
  • Mandatory - 60-day imprisonment which cannot be probated or suspended
  • Fine - $2,000 - $10,000, plus an additional $100 fine assessed for Impaired Drivers Trust Fund
  • License revocation - 3 years

Fourth or Subsequent DUI Conviction Within 5 Years - Class C Felony:
  • Imprisonment - 1-10 years
  • Fine - $4,000 - $10,000
  • License revocation - 5 years

Additional Penalties

  • If you have a BAC (blood alcohol content) of 0.15 or higher, the fine will automatically be doubled.

  • If there was a child in the car when you were stopped, the driver license suspension will be longer.

  • When you get a new license, it will show that you are required to drive a car that has an ignition interlock device that checks your blood alcohol content before you can start the vehicle.
What We Do
Criminal Defense and Personal Injury

Proudly Serving all areas of Baldwin County, Mobile County, Bay Minette, Daphne, Elberta, Fairhope, Foley, Gulf Shores, Loxley, Magnolia Springs, Orange Beach, Point Clear, Robertsdale, Silverhill, Spanish Fort, Summerdale, Mobile, Prichard, Saraland, Satsuma, Semmes, Chickasaw, Citronelle, Bayou La Batre, Creola, Dauphin Island, Mount Vernon
OFFICE LOCATION
Bay Minette, Alabama:
214 North Hoyle Ave
(Across from the Bay Minette Police Department on the corner of Hoyle Avenue and 3rd Street)

MAILING ADDRESS

Pascal Bruijn
PO Box 811
Fairhope, AL 36533-0811
Call or email NOW for a free Case Review
Stacks Image 1230